Things to see in Lamalou les Bains
Things to see
THINGS TO SEE
- BELLE EPOQUE ARCHITECTURE
CASINO - THEATRE
The typical spa-town architecture of this complex, which was built in the late nineteenth century, consists of two fine stone buildings with Doric columns, some remarkable 19th-century, listed stained glass in the Casino and a lavish little theatre seating 600 which has undergone alterations over the years but has nevertheless kept its turn-of-the century look.
BELLE EPOQUE HOUSES
Take a stroll down any of the streets – most of which bear the names of famous people – and you will discover any number of houses which still breathe the charm of the Belle Époque.
- BEAUTIFUL OLD STONE
PRIORY SAINT-PIERRE DE RHEDES
This venerable church was built on the foundations of an ancient Christian sanctuary which was set up in the late fourth century on the Gallo-Roman site of Rhèdes. Dominating Lamalou cemetery along the road to Le Poujol-sur-Orb, the priory of Saint Pierre de Rhèdes – a listed historical building – is one of the purest gems of rural Romanesque art in France. The architecture and fascinating sculptures of this early local parish church date from the eleventh to twelfth centuries.
CHAPEL NOTRE-DAME DE L’ASSOMPTION
Rebuilt during the seventeenth century over the remains of a Romanesque building, this church, also known as Notre-Dame de Villecelle, was the town’s second church alongside Saint Pierre de Rhèdes, becoming the parish church in 1803. In 1904, it handed its title of parish church in turn to Lamalou-les-Bains’ new church of Saint Pierre Saint Paul. Thanks to the dedicated work of all the inhabitants of the hamlet of Villecelle, with funding from the municipality, this sanctuary has been restored to its former glory. This exemplary restoration work, which has given new lustre to each feature added by successive centuries, has revealed the eternal youth of this humble country parish church.
CHURCH SAINT-PIERRE SAINT-PAUL
The current parish church of Lamalou-les-Bains was built in 1933 on the site of a former wooden building which was built in 1893 and destroyed by fire in 1930. Built in the neo-Gothic style and 45 metres high, St-Pierre St-Paul has a single nave with 22 tall stained-glass windows made by a stained-glass artist from Toulouse.
CHAPEL NOTRE-DAME DE CAPIMONT
Overlooking the Orb Valley, perched 400 meters above Lamalou les Bains and Hérépian the Notre-Dame de Capimont, dedicated to the Virgin Mary, is a haven of peace and quiet in the midst of the old oak trees. A 12th century Roman chapel linked to a 17th century hermitage, this superb monument bears witness to the religious history of neighbouring villages.
Behind the building, a path leads to a small chapel at the top of a monumental stairway dedicated to Sainte Anne, the mother of Notre-Dame. From the esplanade in front of the church, take in the magnificent panoramic view that extends from Carlencas to Caroux and the Pic de la Coquillade à l’Orb. (Pilgrimage on 15th August).